About Me I am a retired librarian and I now support books and authors through my reviews.

I have always loved to read and I was able to share that love through my work as a public librarian for 22 1/2 years. I now enjoy reading to my granddaughter and supporting authors through my reviews!

Wednesday, September 15, 2021

Set in Stone (The True Lies of Rembrandt Stone #4) by David James Warren

Set in Stone (The True Lies of Rembrandt Stone #4)

Rembrandt Stone is on the case of a serial killer. But when the killer finds him first, he puts the one person Rembrandt loves in his cross hairs. Now, Rembrandt must outwit time to save the people he loves.

The continuing adventures of Rembrandt Stone from the creative minds of James L. Rubart, Susan May Warren and newcomer David Curtis Warren, writing as DAVID JAMES WARREN.


This is the fourth time that I've been caught up in Rembrandt Stone's adventures, and let me tell you, I am once again befuddled, amazed, and eager for more! You see, Rem has been able to travel back and forth in time, because of a very special watch, but now, he is actually 'settled' in one time. There are still many questions, but there are also snippets of information that explain some of what has occurred in the previous three books. Rem is still solving crimes, but we also get to see more of his personal life, and get to know another side of this intriguing man. Rem is a husband and father, but then, in a powerful, heartrending scene, there are events that provoke Rem into taking one more 'trip'.

Set in Stone is a thrilling story filled with action, danger, and a gamut of emotions, and I can't wait to read the next book in this astonishing series, The Lies of Rembrandt Stone. If you're looking for non-ending suspense, grab a copy of this great book by David James Warren.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher. There was no obligation for a positive review. These are my own thoughts.

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


James L. Rubart is 28 years old, but lives trapped inside an older man’s body. He’s the best-selling, Christy Hall of Fame author of ten novels and loves to send readers on mind-bending journeys they’ll remember months after they finish one of his stories. He’s dad to the two most outstanding sons on the planet and lives with his amazing wife on a small lake in eastern Washington.

Connect with James:

Susan May Warren
 is the USA Today bestselling, Christy and RITA award–winning author of more than eighty novels whose compelling plots and unforgettable characters have won acclaim with readers and reviewers alike. The mother of four grown children, and married to her real-life hero for over 30 years, she loves traveling and telling stories about life, adventure, and faith.

For exciting updates on her new releases, previous books, and more, visit her website or connect with Susan on FacebookInstagram, or Twitter.

David Curtis Warren
 is making his literary debut in these novels, and he’s never been more excited. He looks forward to creating more riveting stories with Susie and Jim, as well as on his own. He’s grateful for his co-writers, family, and faith, buoying him during the pandemic of 2020, and this writing and publishing process.

Connect with David on Instagram

View all my reviews


Tuesday, September 14, 2021

Dogwood Winter (Valley Creek Redemption #3) by Candace West

Dogwood Winter (Valley Creek Redemption)

A Lukewarm Correspondence. A Tattered Reputation. Two hearts at Odds.

He is walking away while she is fighting to walk.

After a springtime swim, Ella Steen is stricken with a dire illness, leaving her without the use of her legs. Meanwhile, Dr. George Curtis, the man she secretly loves, faces ruin. For over a year, the crusty New York City bachelor and vivacious spinster have exchanged dozens of letters and formed a wary friendship.

Neither are willing to open their hearts completely. Until they face each other. The past looms between them, however. Does George still love another or is his heart completely free?

A trip to Valley Creek holds the answers. Instead, when George and Ella arrive, they encounter obstacles that force other truths to the surface. Is George brave enough to confront what he fled in New York? Can Ella confess why she hates dogwood winters? Will their hearts survive?

If only their pasts would keep out of the present.


"Truth comes when we are broken, if we will listen."

What do you do when trials are overwhelming and happiness seems elusive? Dogwood Winter is the heartwarming tale of two people who discover that any storm can be weathered if you have someone who believes in you, and you fully trust The One who can hold you up! In this stirring story that tugs at your emotions, Ellen Steen is crippled physically, and George Curtis suffers from the crippling effects of guilt and disillusionment. I was touched by George's devotion and his efforts to show Ella that it didn't matter if she could walk, and I was moved by Ella's efforts to encourage George to return to medicine. As I read Dogwood Winter,  I found myself asking "What if...?" What if I couldn't get my legs to work? Would I blame God, or would I turn to Him and give Him full control? What if my goal to help others seemed fruitless? Would I be willing to return to medicine, or would I walk away and never look back?

Author Candace West has created a poignant tale centered around Ella and George's friendship and romance, and she shares a powerful faith message of forgiveness and redemption. Dogwood Winter is an emotional story that will tug at your heartstrings, and lift you up with its references to hope, love, and faith.

This is the third book in the Valley Creek Redemption series and I recommend it to all who enjoy historical Christian romance.

I received a copy of this book from the author. There were no expectations for a positive review. These are my own thoughts.

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Candace West was born in the Mississippi delta to a young minister and his wife. She grew up in small-town Arkansas and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello. At twelve years old, she wrote her first story, “Following Prairie River.” In 2018, she published her debut novel Lane Steen, book one of the Valley Creek Redemption Series. By weaving entertaining, hope-filled stories, Candace shares the Gospel and encourages her readers. She currently lives in Arkansas with her husband and their son along with two dogs and three bossy cats.

Learn more by visiting Candace's     Website     Facebook    Instagram