About Me I am a retired librarian and I now support books and authors through my reviews.

I have always loved to read and I was able to share that love through my work as a public librarian for 22 1/2 years. I now enjoy reading to my granddaughter and supporting authors through my reviews!

Friday, February 8, 2019

The Forgiving Jar by Wanda E. Brunstetter

ABOUT THE BOOK 

What would happen if you found out someone has been impersonating you?
 

Sara Murray had never met her mother’s parents and was surprised to learn after her death that they were Amish living in Pennsylvania. When she is finally able to make the trip to meet them, she is shocked to learn someone else has been living with them and pretending to be Sara. Sara can’t understand how quickly her grandparents are willing to forgive the imposter.

Secrets and deceit seem to follow Sara, and she is so tired of it. Though soon she meets Brad Fuller who is visiting her grandparents for during Christmas. She likes him a lot, but even he seems to pull away from her, not being totally honest.

Struggling, Sara finds an old canning jar hidden in the barn that is full of encouraging prayers. Can Sara find a way to forgive the past and move on to building new relationships?

This is Book 2 in the brand-new series, The Prayer Jars, from New York Times bestselling author Wanda E. Brunstetter.
Book 1 -- The Hope Jar (August 2018)
Book 3 -- The Healing Jar (August 2019)


  MY THOUGHTS ABOUT The Forgiving Jar (The Prayer Jars #2)The Forgiving Jar by Wanda E. Brunstetter
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is the second book in the Prayer Jars series and I have enjoyed both of them equally! In my review of the first book, 'The Hope Jar', I stated that "I feel that the Lapps have enough love for both a real granddaughter and the young woman who pretended to be their granddaughter" and this second story offers proof that they did. This is wonderful for Michelle Taylor, the young woman who impersonated their granddaughter, because she has finally found love and acceptance. The true granddaughter of Willis and Mary Ruth Lapp is now living with them and she doesn't understand or appreciate the love and kindness that her grandparents continue to offer Michelle. Much of this book revolves around Sara Murray's determination to uncover Michelle's true nature. Now I know that Michelle was clearly wrong in her deception but she has apologized and she has also asked forgiveness from the Lapps and from God. It seems, however, that the harder that Michelle tries, the harder that Sara resists. Sara's behaviour is often unkind and she is clearly envious; it soon becomes obvious that she herself has issues that need to be resolved. The Lapps are good Amish people and they are uncertain how to reconcile these two young women. Just a short time ago they were completely unaware that they even had a granddaughter and now they have been blessed with two girls to love!

'The Forgiving Jar' is centered around the Amish community but there are several "Englishers" who play important roles. There is romance and the possibility of marriage and there is the continued importance of the slips of papers found in hidden canning jars that offer encouragement, prayers, inspiration and the importance of forgiveness. Wanda E. Brunstetter has once again written a story that entertains and inspires and 'The Forgiving Jar' is very appropriately named. It shares the message of love and forgiveness and it shows that if we humans seek forgiveness, we must be prepared to offer forgiveness. Readers are also reminded that the ability to trust and to accept change is invaluable in our relationships with each other.

This is an excellent book for fans of Amish books and Christian fiction and I look forward to seeing what the third prayer jar holds and hopefully learning the identity of the person behind these notes!

I received a complimentary copy of this book but this in no way influenced my opinions.

View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment