About Me I am a retired librarian and I now support books and authors through my reviews.

I have always loved to read and I was able to share that love through my work as a public librarian for 22 1/2 years. I now enjoy reading to my granddaughter and supporting authors through my reviews!

Friday, November 29, 2019

Amish Front Porch Stories: 18 Short Tales of Simple Faith and Wisdom by Wanda E. Brunstetter, Jean Brunstetter, & Richelle Brunstetter

Amish Front Porch Stories: 18 Short Tales of Simple Faith and WisdomABOUT THE BOOK

Come and sit awhile as you enjoy 18 fictional short stories of love, joy, and the peace found in Amish country.

Amish Country is known for an atmosphere of peace and quiet, perfect for front-porch sitting with a good book. Join New York Times bestselling author Wanda E. Brunstetter, her daughter-in-law, and granddaughter, as they share 18 heartwarming stories from Amish Country. These fictional short stories include journeys we can all relate to as we seek how to live led by love, joy, peace, patience, and other Fruits of the Spirit. Meet Anna, who struggles to show love to a cantankerous neighbor; Laura, who endures infertility; Nora, whose pride threatens to consume her life; and other women who walk in their faith each day.

MY THOUGHTS.....

'But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.' Galatians 5:22-23 NIV

The cover of this book suggests front-porch sitting and visiting with friends and that is just what this book is about. Fictional friends, family, and neighbors are given the chance to help others by listening, sharing advice, and offering help and support as they try to live by the fruits of the Spirit that are mentioned in Galatians 5. Amish Front Porch Stories is a collection of eighteen heartwarming and entertaining short stories that remind readers of the special Christian qualities that we all should strive to attain and maintain.

Wanda Brunstetter is known for her wholesome books about Amish life and Christian living and she has contributed ten stories to this collection, along with eight more that are written by her daughter-in-law Jean and her granddaughter Richelle. All of them feature a relevant and familiar topic: infertility, feeling overwhelmed during child-rearing years, getting along with others, loneliness, and aging are just a few mentioned but I feel sure that everyone reading this collection will find at least one story that seems to be written just for them!

This is the perfect book to have when reading time is limited and it is a must-read for fans of Amish and Christian fiction.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author and Barbour Publishing but a review was not required. These are my honest thoughts.

ABOUT THE AUTHORS

New York Times bestselling and award-winning author, Wanda E. Brunstetter is one of the founders of the Amish fiction genre. She has written close to 90 books translated in four languages. With over 10 million copies sold, Wanda's stories consistently earn spots on the nations most prestigious bestseller lists and have received numerous awards.

Jean Brunstetter became fascinated with the Amish when she first went to Pennsylvania to visit her father-in-law’s family. Since that time, Jean has become friends with several Amish families and enjoys writing about their way of life. She also likes to put some of the simple practices followed by the Amish into her daily routine. Jean lives in Washington State with her husband, Richard Jr. and their three children, but takes every opportunity to visit Amish communities in several states. In addition to writing, Jean enjoys boating, gardening, and spending time on the beach.

Richelle Brunstetter lives in the Pacific Northwest and developed a desire to write when she took creative writing in high school. After enrolling in college classes, her overall experience enticed her to become a writer, and she wants to implement what she's learned into her stories. Just starting her writing career, her first published story appears in The Beloved Christmas Quilt beside her grandmother, Wanda E. Brunstetter, and her mother, Jean. Richelle enjoys traveling to different places, her favorite being Kauai, Hawaii.


My rating: 4 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment